李嘉齡

1998獎學金得主

李嘉齡

1998/1999 獎學金得主

嘉齡自四歲起走進鋼琴音樂世界,1998年於演藝學院獲頒第一屆賽馬會獎學金後,以一級榮譽畢業;2003年,她再獲香港賽馬會音樂及舞蹈信託基金頒發獎學金赴德國進修。2005年,她參加波蘭華沙第15屆蕭邦國際鋼琴大賽,以第六名的佳績成為首位獲得此殊榮的香港人。

嘉齡活躍於國際音樂舞台。演奏之外,她亦擔當老師,在演藝學院、教育大學、浸會大學任教音樂,更與「香港展能藝術會」合作,指導有特殊學習需要的學生。

遇到伯樂以及好的老師都講求緣份,我很慶幸一直得到馬會和老師們的幫助及支持,讓我在音樂路上走得更遠。當中,黃懿倫老師對教學的熱誠、對學生的推心置腹令我不但在音樂造詣有所增進,連對自己的人生都變得更着緊,我希望我的學生都有所蛻變。

我常提醒我的學生,如果有一個目標,不要只「達到」,要「超越」。曾有原本較被動的學生突然感謝我對他的教導,表示反思後認為自己應更積極學習,以後會更努力。能以我的態度感動他們,我很安慰。只要他們能對自己所熱愛的事有毫不妥協的堅毅,將來他們做甚麼都會成功。

Colleen Lee Ka-Ling

1998 Scholar

Colleen Lee Ka-Ling

1998 Scholar  •  Pianist

Colleen first ventured into the fascinating world of piano when she was four years old. She was among the first to be awarded the Hong Kong Jockey Club Scholarship in 1998, while she was studying music at The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA). After graduating with first-class honours, she received a further scholarship from The Hong Kong Jockey Club Music and Dance Fund in 2003, which enabled her to continue her studies in Germany. Two years later, she came sixth at the 15th International Frederick Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw – the highest placing anyone from Hong Kong has achieved in the competition.

Colleen frequently appears on stages around the world. In addition to performing, she teaches music at the HKAPA, The Education University of Hong Kong and Hong Kong Baptist University. She also collaborates with the Arts with the Disabled Association Hong Kong to teach students with special educational needs.

“I was very fortunate to have met teachers who saw potential in me. The support from them and The Hong Kong Jockey Club has taken me a long way in my music career. I was especially inspired by Professor Eleanor Wong’s enthusiasm in her teaching at the HKAPA and the genuine care she had for her students. Under her mentorship, I not only became a better musician, but also a better person. I want to pass on the blessings I have received, and motivate my students to make positive changes in their lives.

“I always remind my students not to be content with reaching a certain target. They should think about how to exceed it. There was once a student who came to thank me for inspiring him to become more proactive and motivated in life. I am grateful to be able to bring positive changes to my students with my attitude. As long as they never lose sight of their passion and keep pressing on, I believe they can achieve anything in the world.”