陳子翔

2007獎學金得主

陳子翔

2007獎學金得主

子翔在2010年以年僅23歲的年紀創辦科創企業「水中銀」,憑首創的「基因魚」生物檢測技術提升食品安全,於2011年奪得 匯豐青年企業家獎(亞洲區) 總冠軍及2016年登上《福布斯》亞洲版「3030歲以下的商業領袖」。

作為首席商務官,子翔在短短七年帶領「水中銀」創下多項佳績,包括於2015年獲頒第43屆日內瓦國際發明展大獎,2017年更成功吸引上市公司注資,有望成為香港首間生物科創企業的「獨角獸」。

創辦「水中銀」的過程困難重重,當時我們幾個創辦人只不過剛從大學畢業,社會亦正值百業待興,憑甚麼說服投資者融資呢?投資者也許會考慮投資股票、房地產,有的甚至直接問我們「我與你們非親非故,為甚麼要幫助你們?」

那時候我馬上調整自己的想法──他們說得對,其實沒有人必須支持我們,拒絕是正常的,願意接見我們,和我們討論已經是額外收穫。作為年輕人,我們應常常反省,嚴格地於細微處力臻完美,時刻準備好去迎接挑戰,累積經驗。重點不是別人願不願意幫助我們,而是我們有沒有抓緊機會增值自己。

我一直堅信如果事情是容易的,早就有人做了。換句話說,所面對的問題越大,解決問題所創造的價值就越大。而解決食品安全問題,當然大有價值。因此,即使被九百九十九個投資者拒絕也沒問題,只要有一個答應,事情就成了;結果巧合地,在創業大賽中我就遇上了第一個投資者,「水中銀」就是由此而來。

「水中銀」由單單研發安全檢測科技,發展至涉足大數據領域,至今日建立食品產品安全入口,我重視的是「Stay Helpful」。我們所憑靠的不是金錢,而是時刻思考怎麼幫助員工、股東和消費者,通過創造社會價值,吸引外界支持,才能推動服務項目一直持續發展下去。

Eric Chen Zixiang

2007 Scholar

Eric Chen Zixiang

2007 Scholar

Eric founded Vitargent (International) Biotechnology Limited in 2010 at just 23 years old. The start-up company is dedicated to improving food safety with its groundbreaking fish embryo toxicity (FET) testing technologies. Eric received one of the HSBC Young Entrepreneur Awards (Asia) in 2011 and entered the Forbes Asia 30 Under 30 list in 2016.

Under Eric’s leadership as Chief Commercial Officer, Vitargent has achieved tremendous success in the past seven years. It won the Grand Prix at the 43rd International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva in 2015 and successfully raised funds from a listed company in 2017. Vitargent is on its way to becoming Hong Kong’s first biotechnology start-up “unicorn”.

“The process to establish Vitargent was not all smooth. At the time, the few of us who founded the company had just graduated from university, and the city’s economy had only begun to recover after a period of recession. Investors might be interested in buying stocks and properties, but for a start-up company like ours, they were more sceptical. Some even told us, ‘I don’t know you. Why would I help you?’”

“We then adjusted our mindset and accepted that no-one was obliged to support us. Rejection was the norm, and any offer to meet and discuss the project with us was already a bonus. We as young people should always reflect on ourselves and work towards perfection. It is important to be prepared for challenges and learn from experience. What matters the most is not whether other people are willing to help, but whether we are able to grasp the opportunity when it comes.

“The easiest tasks would have been taken care of already. In other words, the more challenging a problem is, the greater the value of the solution. The social value created by the improvement of food safety is certainly huge. Therefore, it did not matter if we were turned down by many investors. As long as there was one who believed in us, we would be able to move forward. I met my first investor in an entrepreneurship competition, and that was how Vitargent was born.”

As the company has grown, it has expanded its scope to big data and the establishment of a database for the safe import of food and products. “For me, it’s important to ‘stay helpful’,” Eric observes. “Instead of financial rewards, we garner support from society by creating social value. Consideration for our staff, our shareholders and our consumers is at the heart of our operation.

Only in this way will our contribution to society be sustainable.”