蕭凱恩

2017獎學金得主

蕭凱恩

2017 獎學金得主

香港中文大學音樂系學生蕭凱恩不但是全職學生,亦是首屆其中一位有特殊教育需要的賽馬會獎學金得主及專業音樂家,叱吒各個大賽及各地舞台。她在2014年及2017年將她有如天籟之音的歌聲分別帶到加拿大多倫多及北京清華大學。

凱恩出生不久已確診患眼癌,僅3個月大便接受手術移除雙眼眼球。縱然如此,凱恩仍憑天賦的動人聲線與優異音樂潛能,先後考上聲樂及鋼琴的演奏級,走上專業表演者的道路。她曾在多個公開歌唱比賽贏取獎項,包括2011年「中國達人秀」香港區冠軍,亦憑慈善工作,奪得2017年香港紅十字會人道年獎。

我曾到孟加拉做義工,探望當地的視障人士。當地教育水平普遍較低,很多人因為錯過了醫治眼疾的機會而失明。我還深深記得探望一個患有白內障的四歲小朋友時,我感受到他有點驚怕,聽得到他想哭,我便牽着他的手,請翻譯對他說:「不要緊張,我和你一樣都是視障的,但不要緊,只要你努力,一樣可以做自己想做的事,達成夢想。」

回想起我小時候只靠雙耳學習,功課忙或考試期間壓力特別大的時候,都曾忍不住埋怨自己做甚麼事都比別人需要更多時間。還記得當年考取演奏級聲樂文憑,要考七種語言的歌曲,但由於無法看譜,我要不斷反覆聆聽每種語言、每個字的發音,花上幾個月時間才完全掌握。後來我明白,其實可以為學業辛勤都是幸福的事──上學對於世界上很多人而言根本遙不可及。我覺得自己很幸運,可以上學,可以有夢想。

我喜歡音樂,也很喜歡做慈善工作,即使是失明的我,也可以為別人帶來光明。我希望未來能組織互助網絡,協助其他視障人士學習音樂,令所有人都可以享受音樂帶來的快樂。

Michelle Siu Hoi-Yan

2017 Scholar

Michelle Siu Hoi-Yan

2017 Scholar

Michelle studies full-time in the Department of Music at The Chinese University of Hong Kong and is among the first JC scholars with special educational needs. Despite her young age, she is already an experienced performer and has won multiple awards. She brought her beautiful voice to Toronto in 2014 and Tsinghua University in 2017.

Michelle was diagnosed with eye cancer shortly after birth and had her eyeballs surgically removed at just three months old. However, she did not let her condition hold her back. With an angelic voice and exceptional musical talent, she began her journey to becoming a professional artist by gaining performance diplomas for piano and vocal music. Her talent and hard work was recognised with numerous awards. Most notably, she won the Hong Kong preliminary round of China’s Got Talent in 2011. At the same time, her passion for charitable work has earned her the prestigious Hong Kong Humanity Youth Power Award from the Hong Kong Red Cross in 2017.

“I visited people with visual impairment on a volunteering trip in Bangladesh. The education level there is generally low, and many people have become blind because they missed the best treatment opportunity. One day, I visited a four-year-old boy with cataracts. I could feel that he was scared and on the brink of tears, so I held his hand and asked the interpreter to tell him, ’Don’t worry. I am visually impaired, too. As long as you work hard, you can still take ownership of your life and realise your dreams.”

“I rely on my ears to learn. When I became stressed from homework and exams, I used to complain about my slow pace of getting things done. One such instance was when I prepared for the vocal music diploma examination. The songs in the syllabus were in seven languages. Because I could not read the sheet music, I had to listen to the songs repeatedly and drill myself on the pronunciation of the lyrics in each language. It took me months to grasp them fully. Later, I came to realise that being able to study hard was a blessing. Many people do not even have access to education. I’m actually very lucky — I can go to school and can afford to dream.”

“I am as passionate about charity work as I am about music. Even though I cannot see, I can still bring light to people’s lives. My goal is to create a supportive network of music teachers for the visually impaired, so everyone can experience the joy of music.”