曾俊深

2009獎學金得主

曾俊深

2009 Scholar

熱衷於社會服務、教育及語言學的俊深,走的是一條把它們「三劍合一」的路。赴英進修前,他任職老師,並特意選擇任教基層及少數族裔學生。他以協助非華語學生獲得更好的中文教育、順利融入社會為職志。

俊深曾於大澳一所少數族裔學校執教,目睹學生因語言上的原因,以致長大後無法發揮所長,覺得自己有責任幫助他們。他放棄老師的穩定工作,負笈牛津大學,就是希望從政策方面處理這些問題。

他回憶,當時面臨繼續任教與離港進修兩條道路,躊躇不前,而一次賽馬會獎學金的高桌晚宴就成為他人生的轉捩點。他在席間與程介明教授傾談,後者聽過他的理念後鼓勵他說:「如你深信自己有能力幫助他們,就去研究這個議題吧。」就憑教授的一席話令他下定決心,走上這一條追夢的道路。

俊深與程介明教授於高桌晚宴合照 

俊深認為,他的轉變,正體現賽馬會學人精神:「我走的仍然是教育的路,只是方式與做教師時或有不同。我眼中的賽馬會學人,不但可以在一個合適的位置貢獻社會,更能在不同的崗位上幫助別人。」

Samuel Tsang Chun-Sum

2009 Scholar

Samuel Tsang Chun-Sum

2009 Scholar

Samuel has a strong interest in community services, education and linguistics, and aspires to weave the three together in his career. Before leaving for further studies in the United Kingdom, he worked as a teacher with a specific focus on underprivileged and ethnic minority students. He strives to improve Chinese language education for non-Chinese-speaking students, so they can better integrate into society.

When Samuel was teaching ethnic minority children at a school in Tai O, he realised the language barrier had significantly limited their future potential, and felt a strong need to help them. Hoping to tackle the issue at policy level, he decided to leave his stable teaching job for further studies at the University of Oxford.

He was originally torn between the options of continuing to teach and leaving Hong Kong for further studies. A pivotal moment came at a Scholarship High Table Dinner, where he shared his vision with Professor Cheng Kaiming. Professor Cheng told him, “If you truly believe you can help these students, go and study it.” This simple yet powerful assurance has made him more determined than ever to achieve his aspirations.

Samuel and Prof Cheng Kai-Ming at High Table Dinner.

Samuel lives the JC Scholar’s spirit by finding solutions to social problems outside his comfort zone. “I am still contributing to the field of education, only in a different way. For me, JC Scholars are not only capable of serving the community in their own fields, but are also willing to contribute to society in different roles.”