謝尚昀

2016獎學金得主

 

謝尚昀

2016獎學金得主

 

尚昀是第一屆獲得賽馬會職業教育獎學金的學生,他現於英國斯旺西大學攻讀航天工程學士。尚昀自言,獲得賽馬會獎學金讓他得到追夢的空間,令他珍惜負笈海外的機會,更覺要好好學習。

尚昀坦承以往成績並非特別優異,但他有一顆不服輸的心,越面對挑戰,越勇於迎難而上。他說:「教授跟我們說,第一學期多數人都能取得70分成績;到第二學期,能取得50分已算有所交代。但我的目標是在第二學期都能維持70分成績,目前仍能保持水準。」

踏入第二學年,尚昀開始面對選科問題。一心鑽研宇航科技的他,自然不會因為課程難度而退卻。「在學科三個分支中,我選了最艱深、知識面要求最廣的航天工程修讀,因為可以接觸到我最渴求的太空科技,包括火箭引擎設計。」

尚昀說在學習上,較需習慣的是老師要求學生思想跳出框框。功課沒有絕對答案,更花腦力時間。他與同學嘗過為做功課捱通宵後一同看日出的滋味,但他絕不以此為苦,反而笑說感覺難忘。縱使距離成為航天工程師的目標尚遠,單憑尚昀在談笑間流露出的堅毅,足見他追夢的心,絕不因任何困難輕易動搖。

Sean Tse Cheung-Wan

2016 Scholar

Sean Tse Cheung-Wan

2016 Scholar

Sean is among the first students to be awarded the Vocational Education Scholarship under the Hong Kong Jockey Club Scholarships, and he is now pursuing a degree in aerospace engineering at Swansea University in the United Kingdom. He says the Scholarship has given him the opportunity to follow his dream. He greatly treasures the opportunity to study abroad and feels a responsibility to make the most of it.

Sean says that although he was never a top student in the past, his persistence and undeterred mind have taken him a long way. “A professor told the class that most people would be able to score over 70 in the first term, but in the second term, over 50 would already be a satisfactory score. However, my target is to maintain a score over 70 even in the second term. I have not slipped so far.”

In the second year, Sean has had to choose a specialist stream. With a strong passion for aerospace technology, he is unfazed by the difficulty of the course. “I chose Rocket and Space Technology. It is the most demanding discipline of the three and requires a broad spectrum of knowledge. I chose it because it would allow me to learn about aerospace technology and the design of rocket engines. That’s where my passion lies,” he explains.

Sean has not in the past been used to thinking out of the box, and has found it more challenging and time-consuming when there is no model answer to assignments. Sometimes, it means working all night with his classmates until sunrise. However, he has not found it a burden. Instead, he sees it as an unforgettable experience. Although Sean has only just begun his long journey to becoming an aerospace engineer, his perseverance will surely provide the launch pad to his dreams.